Tonelli, Tise, O’Brien, Reed, and Galuardi Nab Thompson Victories

Saturday, April 22, 2017

Tonelli, Tise, O’Brien, Reed, and Galuardi Nab Thompson Victories

Four First Time Winners and One Repeat Victorious at Icebreaker, Road Race Style


THOMPSON, CT – Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park opened the competitive sports car racing season on Saturday, April 22, with the third running of the Icebreaker, Road Race Style. Over 65 drivers entered the event, across the five different classes in competition.  The event produced four first time Icebreaker, Road Race Style Champions, while Nicholas Galuardi was able to defend his Open Wheel title.


Defending race champion, Evan Karl, was the pole sitter, with John Raudat lining up alongside him to bring the field to the green flag. Karl jumped out to the early lead, but was quickly overtaken on lap three by Jason Meyers.  Meyers would continue to pace the field in his No. 88 entry until Peter Tonelli blasted by the Bristol, CT-native. Tonelli had a healthy advantage over the field, but Raudat, who veered off course early in the race, began to reel in the black and red No. 17.  Raudat passed Tonelli on the 12th circuit, but ended up off course again in turn one, this time making contact with the tire wall and ending his day.  Tonelli inherited the lead and held on for the win, followed by Karl, who rebounded from an earlier spin, and Meyers, who hold on for a podium finish.


Darius Trink and Steven Tise led the diverse big bore entry list to the green flag. It was Glenn Kurkjian, though, who started in the third position that jumped out to the early lead.  Driving the No. 93 Corvette, Kurkjian led the first 13 circuits of the race, with heavy pressure from Tise.  Coming off of the course’s final corner, Tise’s Ford Mustang powered past Kurkjian’s Corvette.  The Massachusetts-driver led the final five laps for his first Icebreaker, Road Race Style Championship.


Jordan O’Brien had the Midstate Site Development Legends Series field covered. O’Brien, who enjoys racing in the rain, qualified six seconds faster than Patrick Dillon, who had his best qualifying effort to date.  O’Brien led all twelve circuits, to score his first victory of the season in an INEX National Qualifier.  The racing behind O’Brien, however, was hotly contested between Teddy Hodgdon, Steve Johnson and Patrick Dillion. The three drivers exchanged positions throughout the race, but Hodgdon bested the other two. Johnson had his best career finish in the third position, and Dillion, who rebounded from veering off course, finished fourth.  Matt Chagnot rounded out the top five.


Spec Racer Ford drivers, Robert W. Reed and Jonathan Emms, were on the front row for the second Small Bore race group. Jeff Swan, who is a previous Icebreaker, Road Race Style Champion, took the lead from Reed on the second go-around, until Reed reclaimed it on lap six. He would lead the remaining 14 laps to capture his first Icebreaker, Road Race Style Championship. Emms held onto his second position, with Patrick Stringer finishing in the final podium position. Swann suffered mechanical failure in the closing laps, and finished fourth.  


Michael Hinkle and Nicholas Galuardi qualified in the top two positions for the Open Wheel race group.  Galuardi, the defending Icebreaker, Road Race Style Champion, took the lead on lap two of the race, and walked away from the field.  Third-place starter, Kevin O’Day, battled with Chris Barry for the second position throughout the 18-lap affair. In the end, O’Day best Barry.  


Full results from the Icebreaker, Road Race Style are available on Speedhive, by visit


For more information about Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, please visit