Rookie Newcomb Earns First Thompson Sunoco Modified Victory in Thursday Night Thunder

Thompson, CT — Excitement returned to the highbanks of Thompson Speedway for the second of three rounds of Thursday Night Thunder in the quiet corner of Connecticut. In their first 50-lap, $3,000-to-win showdown of the season, Danny Cates quickly took off to lead the start of the Thompson Sunoco Modified feature. Both the competition, and the patience, was fierce with the field running nose-to-tail, biding their time for the right space to make a move.

Two-time winner Jon Puleo was the first, launching around Cates in turn three and powering through turn four to steal the early lead. Keith Rocco began stalking Puleo, making his move to lead lap 8 but Puleo held strong, jumping under the multi-time Thompson champ to take back the lead with the cross-over. The battle continued until mechanical issues forced Puleo out of the race, giving Rocco the lead all the way to the checkered flags. Rocco’s machine would be disqualified in post-race technical inspection giving rookie Isaiah Newcomb his first Thompson Sunoco Modified win followed by Cates and Josh Carey in the top-three.

The Late Model division went green to checkered with Kulwicki Driver Development Program (KDDP) finalist Derek Gluchacki leading all 25 laps ahead of the pack. Ryan Morgan continued his consistent and competitive season to finish second with fellow former Thompson champion Brian Tagg taking third. Windham, Maine’s Cole Robie and Riverside, Rhode Island’s Connor Souza joined in to round out the top-five.

Sixteen strong, the Street Stocks began the evening’s racing action, running clean and green until the halfway point of their 20-lap main event when Scott Sundeen and Austin Flanagan made contact in turn two with both cars being towed off for the night. One final late caution for a spinning ‘Leadfoot’ Larry Barnett couldn’t slow the dogfight between Ryan Waterman and Corey Fanning in the final circuits. Post-race technical inspection removed Waterman, Fanning and Aaron Plemons from their top-five finishes giving Jason Chicolas the win with Brent Gleason and Tyler Cinamella rounding out the top-three.

After the AZ Roofing SK Light Modifieds were plagued by cautions early in their feature event, young point leader Tyler Chapman worked through the field to lead the final 21 circuits with Nick Hovey and Meghan Fuller rounding out the podium. Similarly, the Mini Stocks also had a rough start with defending champion Jared Roy quickly sifting things out to take the lead and the win with Ryan Pomposelli and Richard LaFlesh joining him in victory lane.

Thursday Night Thunder is back at Thompson Speedway for the third and final time in 2024 on Thursday, July 25 headlined by the $3,000-to-win, Twisted Tea Midsummer 50 for the Thompson Sunoco Modifieds! Along with the Thompson Sunoco Modified 50-lapper, the Late Models, AZ Roofing SK Light Modifieds, Street Stocks and Mini Stocks are back in action on Thursday, July 25 with a 6:00pm Post Time!

For more information about the American-Canadian Tour, contact the ACT offices at (802) 244-6963,, or visit  You can also get updates on Facebook and Twitter at @ACTTour.

For technical information concerning all PASS divisions, and for media or marketing questions, please contact or visit Don’t forget to “Like” the Pro All Stars Series on Facebook or follow on Twitter @PASSSLM14 to keep up with breaking news as it happens.

For general Thompson Speedway inquiries, call (860) 923-2280, email, or visit You can follow Thompson Speedway on Facebook and Instagram at @ThompsonSpeedway or on Twitter at @ThompsonSpdwy.

Thursday Night Thunder – Round #2

Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park – Thompson, CT

Thursday, June 27, 2024


Thompson Sunoco Modifieds – (50 Laps)

1.         22        #Isaiah Newcomb       Plymouth, MA

2.         2          Danny Cates               Chaplin, CT

3.         69        Josh Carey                   Belchertown, MA

4.         76        Tyler Barry                  Griswold, CT

5.         27        Chase Cook                 Norwich, MA

6.         07        Scott Zilinski               Erving, MA

7.         4          #Zach Leone                Worcester, MA

8.         7          Jon Puleo                    Branford, CT

DSQ     09        Keith Rocco                 Berlin, CT

Late Models – (25 Laps)

1.         03MA  Derek Gluchacki         Dartmouth, MA

2.         31CT    Ryan Morgan              North Franklin, CT

3.         9MA    Brian Tagg                   Millbury, MA

4.         29ME   Cole Robie                  Windham, ME

5.         38RI     Connor Souza             Riverside, RI

6.         6MA    Nick Johnson              Rehoboth, MA

7.         91CT    Andrew Molleur         Shelton, CT

8.         21MA  Pete Yetman               Peru, MA

9.         19CT    #Kyle Gero                  Baltic, CT

10.       78        Emma Monahan         Quaker Hill, CT

11.       73CT    Jared Materas             Westfield, MA

AZ Roofing SK Light Modifieds – (25 Laps)

1.         41CT    Tyler Chapman           Ellington, CT

2.         16        Nickolas Hovey           Chaplin, CT

3.         2          Meghan Fuller             Auburn, MA

4.         15        John O’Sullivan           Norwich, CT

5.         8          Ryan Souliere             N. Smithfield

6.         34MA  Daltin McCarthy         Oxford, MA

7.         3          Steven Midford          Ellington, CT

8.         44        Robert Schultz             Ocean, NJ

DNS     32        Wayne Burroughs Jr.  Colchester, CT

Street Stocks – (20 Laps)

1.         7x        Jason Chicolas             Sutton, MA

2.         01        Brent Gleason             Griswold, CT

3.         66        Tyler Cinamella          Willimantic, CT

4.         2          Tim Poulin                  Thompson, CT

5.         85        Michael Viens             Seekonk, MA

6.         10        Charles H. Stott III       Medway, MA

7.         73        Larry Barnett              Moosup, CT

8.         19        Ryan Lineham             Hope Valley, RI

9.         46x      David Paradis              Auburn, MA

10.       52        Al Stone III                   Durham, CT

11.       36        Scott Sundeen             Sutton, MA

12.       28        Austin Flanagan          Warwick, RI

13.       6          Scott Souza                 Uncasville, CT

DSQ     75        Ryan Waterman         Danielson, CT

DSQ     11        Corey Fanning             Mapleville, RI

DSQ     67        Aaron Plemons           Uncasville, CT

Mini Stocks – (15 Laps)

1.         1CT      Jared Roy                    Moosup, CT

2.         19        Ryan Pomposelli         Smithfield, RI

3.         9CT      Richard LaFlesh           Griswold, CT

4.         82        Kevin Moore               Moosup, CT

5.         44        Steve Michalski           Brooklyn, CT

DNS     97        Dave Trudeau             Mansfield, CT